Sunday , May 22 2022

Plato unveils a new mayoral committee for Cape Town


New Mayor of Cape Town, Dan Plato, unveiled his new mayoral commission on Sunday after full-blown periods of uncertainty arose in the Council's predecessor Patricia De Lille's crisis.

"With great pleasure today, I announce a new, united, diverse and energetic mayoral committee (Mayco) who served and took the city of Cape Town and its people forward," said Plato, who was voted on Tuesday.

They are:

Deputy Mayor – Ian Neilson
Assets & Devices – James Vos
Corporate Services – Sharon Cottle
Finance – Marian Nieuwoudt
Informal settlements, services in the field of water and waste, energy – Xanthea Limberg
Social Services, Safety and Security – JP Smith
City Transport and Development Agency – Felicity Purchase
East region – Phindile Maxiti
Southern Area – Zahid Badroodien
Central area – Malusi Booi
Northern area – Grant Twigg

The disillusionment occurs after the resignation of Shaun Augustus, the mayor of Brett Herron, Suzette Little and Siyam Mamkeli, and councilors Greg Bernadon and Thulani Steel as a result of the charges against De Lille.

READ: Six questions about the De Lille series were asked

"Members who have decided to serve in this committee have demonstrated their ability to fulfill their duties with perfection, their commitment to working together as a united council and their passion to serve the people of this city," Plato said.

He said the urban development and transformation plan would be reviewed.

It will probably result in a different structure that will be adopted at the next Council meeting for ratification.

He thanked former members of the Mayk for his services and was looking forward to working with the new committee.

Source link