Monday , October 3 2022

Stuart Baxter appoints Thulani Serero in Bafana Bafana team to face Nigeria


Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has recalled Thulani Serero from SBV Vitesse FC in the Netherlands in his qualifying tournament team, which must win the African Nations Cup (NAC) against Nigeria in 2019 at the FNB Stadium on November 17th.

Although Serero is back in the team, Baxter resisted the temptation to include Mamelodi Sundowns midfielder Andile Jali and he did not want to talk about players who were not included in the team.

The availability of the Serero team is beneficial to Bafan given that Baxter is unable to choose Kamohela Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Bongani Zungu, Keagan Dolly, Sibusiso Vilakazi and Bradley Grobler who are injured.

Baxter said he had a discussion with Serer and the midfielder clearly stated he would be devoted to long-distance nationality.

"It's been and has always been an important player for us," Baxter told Safa House on Monday.

"He's a nice kid in the dressing room and I'm working on the assumption that everyone can make a mistake, it's his second chance, and he has the quality we need in our assault game," he said of Serer's return.

"It's really a difficult task to pick a team that must face Nigeria without some of our regular players, but we have to have a soldier.

"These injuries could not have come in the worst times when we really need to gather all three points because we are well aware of the importance of this process," Baxter said.

"A positive factor is that it gives us a chance to introduce other players to the team, and that's the players we've been watching so we do not like the knee response.

"This helps us ensure that when we qualify for the tournament, we have a choice of even more players, and I am also convinced that the players will be doing a good job."

Bafana Bafana Squad:

Goalie: (Itumeleng Khume (Chiefs0, Ronwen Williams (Supersport), Darren Keet (Wits)

Defenders: Ramahle Mphahlele (Chiefs), Motyka Madisha (Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates), Fiso Hlanti (Wits), Buhle MKhwanazi (Bidvest Wits)

Mifilizers: Vincent Pule (Pirates), Lebogang Maboe (Sundowns), Hempho Kekana (Sundowns), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport), The Sundays, Thembinkosi Lorch (Thriani Serero, SBV Vitesse)

Strikers: Theo Zwane (Sundowns), Lebo Mothiba (De Strasbourg FC), Dino Ndlova (China Zhejiang Greentown, China), Percy Tau (Royal Union Saint FC, Belgium)

Source link