Tuesday , October 4 2022

The Swedish Academy Awarding the Nobel Prize for Literature has left another member


The reputation of the academy has recently been scandalized.

7 November 2018 at 17:10 TASR

Copenhagen. Members of the Swedish Academy Awarding the Nobel Prize for Literature, the Swedish theologian and writer Jayne Svenungsson also surrendered the latest. AP reported Wednesday.

The reputation of the Academy has recently commented on a scandal related to sexual abuse and financial misconduct.

The article continues under video advertising

the outbreak of scandals

Swedish TV, SVT, added that Jayne Svenungsson is now the eighth of the 18 Academy members who left her last year when the scandals broke out.

She was Svenungsson elected member of the Swedish Academy last September, joined in December.

According to SVT, Svenungsson decided to end the membership after "ripe consideration". Now he wants to fully devote his full-time job to acting as professor of theology at the university.

At the heart of the scandal related to sexual abuse, the French-born Jean-Claude Arnault, who is an important supporter of cultural life in Sweden, and the ancestors of the Nobel Prize committee for literature, Katarina Frostenson,

Accused of rape

Arnault was charged with rape in October and sentenced to two years in prison.

The Swedish Academy this year – for the first time since 1942 – did not award the Nobel Prize in Literature.

It has been decided in connection with the Arnault scandal, which was opened last autumn by Dagens Nyheter when they wrote 18 cases of sexual harassment.

The reputation of the academy has even more disturbed the news that the 72-year-old Frenchman has revealed in advance the names of the Nobel Prize winners.

In addition, it turned out that Frostensen and Arnault were in conflict of interest because they own a private cultural center in Stockholm, which in the past received a subsidy from the Academy – it also distributes three million dollars in scholarships every year.

After the release of this information, apart from Frostensen, seven members of the 18-member commission gave up their lifetime membership.

Source link